My passion over the past semester of ceramics went from something that I just enjoyed doing, to the reason I come to school. The highlight of my day, you might call it. When asked what my theme was going to be, it took me a second. I wanted to say plain and simply "everything.. I don't really know Mrs. Heideman  my project looks like everyone else's?" this was before Ariana shared her glass with me, and showed me porcelain . she started me on hand projects,, I then told her that "i wanted to throw with stuff" her response to me was carefully put at "I couldn't even do it Renee, good luck!" she doubted me and that is most likely why I tried so hard at it. The first bowl I made was beautiful. Before i realized how flimsy porcelain is, I broke it. So then again I tried harder. Long story short, it started something that was amazing to me.  I loved it! and have yet to shake off the thrill of throwing porcelain and using glass. Im pretty sure every project since then has had glass in it, and been made out of porcelain . It was different and new, no one else used it (at that point in time). now everyone likes to.
              Glass has been carefully placed on each and everyone one of my projects this year. The positioning of the glass, the color, and what its mixed with can greatly effect the outcome of a project. Porcelain is the best to use glass with because of how white it is when glazed. It draws direct attention to the bright, and viberent glass. I have made bowls, vases  and lidded projects. They all have different shapes and sizes. the glaze is always different. I have realized that completely different colors mixed on one  project, CAN be beautiful.
               The difference between regular "vanish white" clay and "porcelain " clay is, for one, it clearly sounds a lot cooler to say that "I throw with porcelain". and also porcelain clay is VERY "thirsty", it quickly can absorb water but it also makes it weak and hard to pull up. the most common misconception with porcelain is that its not clay. It is man made, therefor it makes even centering more difficult. Porcelain clay also, is like jelly, except it wont go back to its original position when bumped. It can easily be collapsed in other words. 
               I decided on this theme because knew that it was something unique that I took a passion in. Alex is great at drawing with stain, Ariana is greatly gifted with her flowers and making unique projects look good, but me,,,, I am good at handling porcelain, and glass later came along with it. I loved being different with my porcelain, it was my thing that I could do differently. but shortly after people started to dare to be different to, lol. I soon after experimenting with other peoples glass realized that i needed to buy my own glass. I ordered a sample set from a place in Utah and started using it. ALL THE TIME.
           Through out this semester I have found my inner artist and worked it. I can successfully say that I do have a passion. But not only have I made good projects, I also made another family it almost feels like. I have gained a friendship with a teacher as well. My new friends have influenced me greatly to do weird things with my protects that sometimes worked, and sometimes ended up looking like a 5 year old did it. I loved this class. Couldn't have asked for a better experience
Corner club kids 4 life ;)!



Leave a Reply.